People one is to deny the reality of

People normally experience moments
of deep sorrow when they lose a beloved one due to death or due to an individual’s
own terminal illness. Due to its occurrence universally and to everyone, death
has been comprehended as a normal process. However, this is not the case
because death induces pain to people whom it occur to. The death of our beloved
ones may encourage us to examine our feelings and our previous life. Normally,
moments of grief follows five stages, initially proposed by Elisabeth Kubler
Ross in 1969. The paper explore the five stages of mourning (denial, anger,
bargaining, depression and acceptance) to see what happens in each of them.

first stage of mourning is denial and isolation. A person’s first reaction upon
hearing shocking news like death or illness of a beloved one is to deny the
reality of the matter. At that, it become hard to believe in such news and mostly
people want it to be false. For example, a breast cancer patient was observed refusing
a surgery claiming that she was fine. People are normally in disbelief and they
therefore block others anything in their vicinity, including their loved ones
hence isolation. Eventually, people accept the situation and denial is
substituted with awareness.

We Will Write a Custom Essay Specifically
For You For Only $13.90/page!

order now

second stage that Kubler-Ross identified is anger. This is very important as it
make one feel better, although it is most challenging. Anger is the emotion that
emerges after an individual realizes he/she is dying. Anger can occur in many
ways and this usually happens after one become aware of the situation. People
are found unaware and they thus become angry with anyone trying to console and
support them. Here also, people don’t accept the fact of the matter. They
accuse other people of the death of their beloved rather than terminal illness.
The accusations can be directed to anyone be it a stranger, friend or a family
member. After all, the angry person will not be blamed because they are all
going through a hard moment.

is another stage identified by Kubler-Ross. People may give something in return
for a longer life. A patient at terminal illness may pray to God to prolong
their life for some time. For example, a dying prostate cancer man was heard praying
God to let him see her daughter wedding. Bargaining may occur to other members
of the family. They ought to offer anything so as to prolong life of beloved.
For example a man losing his daughter to cancer is reported asking God to take
his life rather than his daughter.

the stage of depression, the mental health of the patient in terminal illness
is affected. According to Strickland, 2005, depression in dying patient result
from their life disorder after realizing their death. It is mostly observed by
care providers when the patient refuse to see others, refuse eating and not interested
in their hobbies. A boy suffering from AIDS fail to attend practices as usual.

acceptance stage, people accept the situation. At such moment, one may dictate
his/her will, reflect through the life and even make funeral arrangements. A
dying woman was observed dictating her will to the family layer.

conclusion, a person in terminal illness or family member can go through these
stages of grief as identified by Kubler-Ross. The denial stage is characterized
by a disbelief of the situation. A person cannot visualize that death is coming.
Anger is feeling that arises when people realizes death and in many instance,
one blames other for the death. In bargaining stage, the dying person or family
members chose to offer anything in return for prolonged life. Mourning process
ends with acceptance stage where the dying person acknowledge that they are really
dying. It thus follows that mourning stages are distinct from each other.


I'm Mack!

Would you like to get a custom essay? How about receiving a customized one?

Check it out